Recognition Programs

National Student Employment Week (NSEW)

Celebrated the second full week in April, college and universities across the country recognize the importance of student employees. Student employees perform invaluable services with enthusiasm, dedication, and initiative.  Celebrating students during this week allows us to show our appreciation for their contributions to our University community.

The Student Employment Office will send departments posters and a list of possible ways to celebrate students prior to NSEW. Do something awesome you want us to know about? Please let us know!

Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY)

Each spring, the National Student Employment Association (NSEA) coordinates a selection process and chooses the National Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) to recognize the outstanding contributions and achievements of students who work while attending college.

The process begins at the institution level.  Supervisors have the ability to nominate outstanding student employees to be considered as their Student Employee of the Year.  Once the student is selected, they then complete at the regional level, then the national level. NSEA will choose a National Student Employee of the Year. The NSEOTY award winner receives a $1,000 cash award! The NSEA President or a designated representative from the NSEA Board will visit the national winner’s campus to present the award.

Institutional nomination forms are sent to department contacts late December, early January. The Student Employment Office collects and reviews the nominations in February. The winner is announced during NSEW at an event hosted by Student Employment.

For more information please visit the NSEA site.

Our regional association, the Northeast Association of Student Employment Administrators (NEASEA) also recognizes supervisors and graduate students during NSEW. Nominations of these regional awards are collected in February and will be celebrated at an event hosted by Student Employment.

Left to right: Lisa Wright, Digital Scholarship Lab, Clara Auclair (graduate winner), Cameron Morgan (undergraduate winner), and Amy Arbogast, Writing, Speaking and Argument.